Coconut Oil – It’s Magic

Hey guys!  Happy Hump Day!

It’s been a while, I know…LOL!  I’ve been doing some research and trying out some new things (as always) and I came across an article that discussed coconut oil.  I’ve always been a curvy girl who LOVES eating! It’s been that way since I can remember.  I have a personal love affair with food…LOL!  I’ve never been that girl who sits at a restaurant shy about what she’s about to order, but over time I’ve realized that I do have to start watching what I eat and how I cook my meals. 

I came across that article as I was saying, and decided that I would give coconut oil a try when I cooked certain foods. I started with my morning eggs and then started using it as a substitute for shortening or butter when it came to baking, etc.  The article mentioned that it was good for you and that it helped with weight loss, so I figured…eh, what do I have to lose.  Weight, that’s what!! I’ve lost a few pounds since I’ve started using it, but nothing to have a party over. I’ve also been doing other things to help me along the way, but I will honestly say that this has helped. My first thought was, “is it going to make my food taste funny”? Answer: slightly. It won’t be over powering, but you will notice a small difference if you’re “looking” for it.  Here’s what the doctor being interviewed in that article said:

“Coconut oil contains medium-chain fatty acids. MCFAs, unlike other fats, are digested and used differently. They do not circulate in the bloodstream like other fats, but are sent directly to the liver where they are immediately converted into energy, just like a carbohydrate. So when you eat coconut oil, your body uses it immediately to make energy rather than store it as body fat. And as if that’s not enough, Dr. Brownstein said the MCFAs found in this miracle oil have three A’s we all want to get on board with: “It has antifungal, antiviral, and antioxidant effects. It also has healthy saturated fats that help our cell walls remain strong and it helps improve insulin sensitivity and can help lower blood sugar.”

It’s suggested to use 1-2 tablespoons of the oil daily. Avoid partially hydrogenated vegetable oils at all costs because they are toxic to the cells. Use coconut or palm oil for high heat cooking and olive oil for low heat cooking. Give it a shot and let me know what you think! Not everyone is like me, so I don’t expect this to be a hit, but if it does work for you, I’d love to hear about it. If you’re interested in finding out what kind of recipes you can use the oil with, google “coconut oil recipes”.  I did, and that’s how I was able to figure out what I could use it with without having to buy an entire food aisle at the supermarket!

As always, stay FAB, healthy and beautiful!

xoxo -LL

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

